New Zealand

• THE 15 FACTS •

1. Location: Southwestern Pacific Ocean 2. Population: around 5,000,000 3. Capital: Wellington 4. Geography: Southern Alps, Fiordland, Taupo Volcanic Zone, Lake Taupo 5. Government: Constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary democracy 6. Currency: New Zealand dollar 7. Economy: Service sector, high level of innovation, manufacturing, construction, raw material extraction, agriculture, tourism 8. Religion: Christianity (Roman Catholicism, Anglicanism, Presbyterianism) 9. Language: Official: English, Māori, New Zealand sign language / Other: Samoan, Hindi, Northern Chinese, French 10. Military: Voluntary 11. Education: Free and compulsory through primary and secondary school 12. Products: Dairy, eggs, honey, meat, wood, fruit (kiwi), nuts, wine, fish, machinery, aluminum 13. Cuisine: Lamb, salmon, crayfish, dredge oysters, whitebait, abalone, mussels, scallops, types of New Zealand shellfish, sweet potato, kiwifruit, tamarillo, pavlova (a national dish) 14. Sports: Rugby, golf, netball, softball, tennis, cricket, extreme sports, mountaineering, canoeing, snow sports, surfing, sailing, waka ama racing 15. Human Rights: Concerns over inequality between Māori and other ethnic groups.

Fiordland National Park and Milford Sound, Bay of Islands, Queenstown, Lake Taupo and Tongariro National Park, Rotorua, Fox and Franz Josef Glaciers, Abel Tasman National Park and the Abel Tasman Coast Track, Aoraki / Mount Cook National Park, Napier In Hawke’s Bay, Auckland, Coromandel Peninsula, Kaikoura, Waiheke Island, Muriwai Beach, Christchurch, White Island, Whakarewarewa Geothermal Valley, Waitomo Glowworm Caves, Matapouri, Piha, Wanaka.

Published: August 5th, 2019 | Last Edited: August 5th, 2019 | WORLD | Traveling | Category’s Archive | Category’s Page | Network’s Archive | Ελληνικά |